Tips & Tricks

How to Stop Website Push Notification on Google Chrome

Today, Google Chrome is known by many as the favorite and reliable web browser, especially for laptop and desktop computer users.

The rapid improvements in software technology have taken place all through the years, and there are many functions you can find on today’s browser.

Browser extensions and plugins are the best examples when it comes to advancement. With all these upgrades, your browser can deliver you the versatility when using it, including the ability to notify its user on the latest updates of a website or blog.

 

What is Web Push Notifications?


Web push notifications are the clickable message that comes from a website and delivers to your personal computer and other gadgets. It sent to your devices even the site is not open in your browser’s tab.

However, these notifications are obtainable only when they have the user’s permission. The web push notifications are available on the web browser such as Google Chrome, Safari, Edge, and Firefox.

Sometimes, you’ll come over the webpage which asks for your permission to give you notifications. Also, there are many sorts of ways for a website uses to notify (depend on the style, e.g., pop-ups, overlays) the readers.

 

How to Stop Website Push Notification Requests on Google Chrome


Similar to the RSS feeds, the web push notifications are the new method for a website to notify its viewers, and able to send them their update stories.

Since it’s easy to follow their updates via push notifications, sometimes there are too many subscriptions that we’ve made. It is good to have the up to date info, but some can also get redundant.

It gets even worse when you open your laptop after a few days and get your system flooded with website updates. So, today’s tutorial is to help people how to turn off the web push notifications on Google Chrome web browser.

Here are the steps to follow:

Open your Google Chrome and get access to the Setting menu by clicking Customize and control Google Chrome icon.

Now scroll down until it reaches to the bottom of the page and select Advance. Under Privacy and security, go to Site settings.

Under Permission, find and click on Notifications.

Alternatively, if you have the latest version of Google Chrome, you can directly go to the top-left of the page and select the Settings Main menu‘s icon to open the sidebar menu.

And then, go to Advanced > Privacy and security > Site settings > Notifications.

On the next page, you’ll find the list of all the visited domains in which the notifications have been allowed and blocked by you. Unless you’ve cleared all your Google Chrome browsing data, the domains still sit on that list.

Click the More actions icon to change its setting (Allow or Block). If you select any particular domain, it gives you other permission options, and you also can clear data stored on your Chrome, you’ll be prompted again to subscribe when you visit that website again.

So that’s all, it’s pretty simple, isn’t it. You can share this article with someone else who’s in need and help your friends to block all those notifications!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *